The name change process involves a number of steps. Please see the information in the Colorado Court Instructions for Filing a Name Change (Adults) for more step-by-step details. Here are some useful links for more complete instructions on how to change your name: If the other parent is not deceased and you cannot have them sign their consent for any reason, you will need to complete the Non-Custodial Parent Notice (click here, click on the + next to Child Name Changes, then click + next to “What forms do I need..”), and then click JDF 422). Send this notice by registered mail to the other parent at least ten days before the hearing and keep the documents for registered mail. After updating the SSA, wait twenty-four (24) hours and visit a Colorado DMV. Bring your legal name change documents, confirmation from the SSA that your name has changed, proof of identity, proof of address, your Social Security number, and payment of the $27 fee. The DMV provided a list of accepted identity and residence documents. All documents must be originals or certified true copies. Your new driver`s license will be delivered to you within thirty (30) days. The first step in starting the name change process is to complete the required fingerprint-based criminal record check. This must be done no later than 90 days before submitting your name change.
Background checks must be conducted by both the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). Contact your local law enforcement agency to find out where you should go to get your fingerprints. The instructions for submitting a name change (minor) include the steps required to complete the process. The forms required to change the name of a minor child can be found on the Colorado Courts website and include Form JDF 421: Petition for Change of Name of a Minor Child; Form JDF426: Publication Order Due to Change of Name; Form JDF 427: Public Announcement of Name Change Petition; and Form JDF 448: Final Order in Council for Name Change. If there is both a custodial parent and a non-custodial parent, additional forms must be completed to change the minor child`s name. According to C.R.S. 13-15-102(2), a child who has been abused within the meaning of C.R.S. 18-6-401 is not required to publicly disclose the name change. Before you can change the name on your driver`s license, you`ll need to contact the Social Security Administration to get a new Social Security card. Submit the application for a social security card by mail or in person to a social security authority. Submit the following documents with the application: The fourth step must be prepared and appear at your hearing if required by the court.
At this hearing, you may be asked questions about why you are requesting a name change. IMPORTANT NOTICE: For name change actions involving a minor, courts generally obtain the written consent of each adult who retains legal rights over the minor. Therefore, the applicant must notify each of these parties directly (notification of proceedings). If you are over seventy (70) years of age, ask the court to provide you with a certified copy of your final decision to change your name to obtain identity documents. This one is offered to you free of charge. You must then provide the certified copy to the Ministry of Finance so that they can issue you a new driver`s licence or identification card with your new name. A Colorado Name Change Form can be used to request a name change for an adult or minor. The applicant (the person making the application) must be over eighteen (18) years of age and may only file their documents with a court located in the district in which the applicant is domiciled. If the name change application is made for reasons other than marriage or divorce, or if the applicant is fourteen (14) years of age or older, the applicant must submit a fingerprint-based criminal background check in addition to the standard name change forms. The court may want to ask you questions about your name change application. In these cases, they will set up a hearing for you, which you will have to attend in order to provide them with the additional information.
The person submitting the change of name in the name of a minor child must be at least 18 years of age and the application for a change of name must be filed in the district where the child resides.