Whether you`re driving in Beartown and Pittsfield, on the beaches, or in Vermont, a legal UTV on the road allows you to explore the Northeast while leaving your truck and trailer behind. Sounds like a dream come true? Our team of experts can handle the complicated paperwork for you when planning your next adventure. The driver or owner of a recreational vehicle involved in a collision, accident or other such victim resulting in the death or injury of a person or property damage greater than $50.00 must immediately notify a law enforcement officer and submit a written report of the incident to the MA Environmental Police within 48 hours. For report forms or other legal and secure information, please contact the Boat and Recreational Vehicle Safety Board. Massachusetts requires all inmates to wear helmets when working in OHV fields. You must wear a helmet in OHV zones, even if your UTV is approved for the road. Whether your UTV is legal or not, if you plan to work as an off-road vehicle in Massachusetts (in OHV zones, public lands, etc.), you must obtain an OHV registration through Massachusetts and display the appropriate decal on your UTV. Here are some important things you need to do to make sure you comply with Massachusetts ATV laws. These five tips make all your ATV surgeries legal. If your UTV is legal on the road with an out-of-state registration, or if you are not a Massachusetts resident, you will need a non-Massachusetts resident OHV registration because the state does not offer reciprocity for OHV recordings from other states. Despite strict atV laws for children, there are still reports of ATV deaths among children in Massachusetts every year. It appears that child drivers continue to use ATVs, although state laws prohibit the practice.
Part of the problem is the lack of proper law enforcement. Plymouth`s director of maritime and environmental affairs, David Gould, said the state would need at least 90 additional off-road officers to reduce the number of illegal ATV children. This is double the number of agents currently available. For PHEVs that have not been approved for the highway, all occupants must wear a helmet in the limited circumstances in which they can use Massachusetts public roads. In addition, all occupants must wear a helmet while operating in OHV and off-road areas, whether UTV is legal or not. Mountain biking can be dangerous in many ways. ATVs expose drivers to risks similar to those of riding a motorcycle; Without a protective metal shell surrounding the driver, he could suffer serious and catastrophic injuries in a collision. The driver could hit the ground or objects such as trees and power poles during an accident. Some injuries are more common in ATV accidents than in typical motor vehicle collisions, and legal advice from a Boston attorney for bodily injury may be required. When it comes to deciding whether or not to wear a helmet in a legal UTV on the street in Massachusetts, the state has a universal helmet law that requires all motorcyclists to wear a helmet, and eye protection is also required if the helmet is not full face.
However, a UTV does not meet the Massachusetts definition of a motorcycle. Massachusetts has many stunning scenery and a variety of terrain suitable for off-road driving. There are many ATV trails in the state, and riding on one of them will give you the best off-road experience you can have. The most important ATV law in Massachusetts is that no one under the age of 14 can drive or operate an ATV. Children between the ages of 14 and 17 are only allowed to use a children`s ATV. You can go mountain biking in Pittsfield State Forest, October Mountain State Forest and 508 International. Massachusetts has some of the strictest ATV laws in the United States, and the penalties for violating any of the laws are harsh and unpleasant. To avoid facing any of the harsh penalties for violating Massachusetts ATV laws, you must have a thorough knowledge of the laws and comply with them all. Perhaps the most popular MOUNTAIN BIKE trail in Massachusetts is the Beartown State Forest, which spans 12,000 acres. Various outdoor activities take place, from cross-country skiing in winter to fishing in summer.
You`ll have a great time in the Beartown State Forest. If an ATV driver violated state law at the time of an accident, he or she may have no reason to file a lawsuit for bodily injury. However, if the ATV accident is someone else`s fault, the injured party may be entitled to compensation. ATV accidents involving supervisor negligence, dangerous terrain, or a defective vehicle part could result in a lawsuit in Massachusetts. All victims of ATV accidents should consult with personal injury lawyers about possible claims for damages. It costs $8 to access the forest in the summer as a Massachusetts resident and $30 for non-residents. The forest offers about 16.4 miles of AT trails with loose rocks, mud pools, tree roots, steep climbs and descents that make navigating the trail more exciting and exciting. The latest annual ATV safety report from the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) shows that 14,653 people have died in ATV accidents in the United States since 1982.
More than 3,000 of those fatally injured were children under the age of 16. In 2016 alone, the CPSC received reports of 337 ATV-related deaths. Another 101,200 victims visited hospitals in the United States in 2016 for ATV accidents. The most common places of injury are the arms, head, neck, legs and trunk. ATVs cannot be used on paved roads; These include public roads, roads and other public roads. If your ATV weighs more than a thousand pounds, you are not allowed to use it on a trail in Massachusetts. The only public road where you can drive an ATV is a road that is approved and marked for recreational vehicles. Under Massachusetts PHEV laws and regulations, ALL recreational vehicle drivers and those who are towed are required to wear an approved helmet that is securely fastened at all times. In addition, ALL OHVs must be equipped with one or more headlights, a red taillight and a red reflector.
For more information, call our law firm at (617)-391-9001. Or if you prefer to send us an email, please visit our contact page. Cities and other local jurisdictions in Massachusetts can set their own rules for PHEVs. You can choose to allow PHEVs on certain roads for necessary driving in emergency weather conditions or to extend or reduce national PHEV laws, including those related to road intersections. Be sure to check the local resources of the areas where you want to operate. You can also call the DMV or local law enforcement for more information. Most trails are explicitly marked, so you need to look for the signs and follow the hiking map. Otherwise, you risk getting lost in the forest.
You can get the trail map for free by visiting the ranger station on shamrock boulevard or Cascade Street. There is a noise limit of 96 decibels on each ATV riding on the trails. Before embarking on the OHV and OHV routes of Massachusetts, please keep in mind the following tips to ensure a safe and enjoyable drive: This forest is often called Rocktober because it has many rocky terrains. This is one of the delights of rugged MOUNTAIN bike drivers. Unlike other trails with generic terrain, Rocktober offers a new trail. There are trails to challenge Massachusetts` most experienced ATV riders. It is a very popular ATV destination for ATV riders in Massachusetts. The biggest drawback is the access to this ATV trail, as motorized vehicles have limited access to it. Pittsfield State Forests offer about 16 miles of ATV trails with fast trails and a smooth ride through the forest. Not everyone between the ages of 14 and 16 can drive an off-road vehicle with a displacement greater than 90 cubic centimeters. If they drive an all-terrain vehicle of 90cc or less, they must be directly supervised by an adult. Massachusetts law states that PHEVs can be driven or pushed on public roads, with the exception of controlled access roads, after they have come to a complete stop and given way to traffic.
The crossing must take place “as directly as possible” in a safe place without affecting traffic. Some official PHEV trails have integrated intersection points, and some local governments have designated official intersection areas in areas with high ORV traffic. For more information, see your local resources. Unlike many other states, PHEVs operated in Massachusetts must register, even if they are only used on private property Legal drivers are only allowed to use ATVs after completing Off-Road Vehicle Safety (PHEV) courses. They must have their certificate of completion of the course when driving in public places. Drivers under the age of 18 must take additional liability courses. A parent or guardian must attend a course with the minor driver. Drivers must register their ATVs with the state before driving. All cyclists must also wear well-fitting helmets that meet federal safety standards.